A bit stumped on how to use channels in this sync case

I am running into a conceptual problem with SG and channels and am wondering if it is a limitation of the model or if I am just not thinking about things correctly. I am relatively new to SG (just migrating from CouchDB) but I have found SG channels to be quite flexible – every-time I’d think it wouldn’t handle a case I would figure out a solution, but one isn’t coming quickly this time.

Imagine a large-scale IRC-style chat app (this is not quite what I am building, but the same problem and easier to understand)

• Room Documents - (type=room) - let’s say 100K of them

• room title, description, logo, synopsis, rules, etc
    • some rooms are public, some are private / members-only
    • published on room/(room-id) channel
  • User Documents (type=user) - let’s say 100K of them

• user information, avatars, etc.
    • published on user/(user-id) channel
  • “Memberships” (type=membership) - let’s say 1 million of them

• relates users to rooms they are interested in or have joined
    • holds room-id, user-id, join date, membership status, etc
    • sync function uses this to grant user-id access to room/(room-id) channel
    • some users have only joined 1 rooms, some have 1000 rooms
    • published on user_memberships/(user-id) channel
    • published on room_memberships/(room-id) channel

At startup, the client app needs to quickly sync documents for all the rooms joined by the user, as well as their membership documents. The client doesn’t want to sync all the rooms available, since that would be huge and slow.

Ideally, I’d like to generate the channel rooms/(user-id) that contains the room documents for that user. This would allow syncing this channel first, and then making the app usable while doing sync of other data. I can’t figure out how to generate this rooms/(user-id) channel – Am I correct that this is just not possible?

The workarounds I am contemplating: