Avoid syncing deleted documents to clients?


#1

I am shadowing a bucket with sync gateway. I only have about 20 docs in the bucket, and there are about 10k docs in the sync bucket. When I connect a fresh client it ends up syncing for a few minutes appearing to download all the old, deleted revisions.

SG log is showing long streams of

   POST /mobiledb/_bulk_get?revs=true&attachments=true  (as testuser)

Is there anyway to avoid this?


#2

“Don’t delete so many documents”, is the best I can offer.

SG has to keep track of deletions, because those have to be propagated to clients when they pull changes. And it has to keep track of them indefinitely, because a client might show up at any time that doesn’t know about that deletion yet.