Bucket password

Hi, I am currently using buckets with passwords in my production environments, however I see that 5.0 has removed the “bucket password”, does this means that I cannot use rolling upgrade?

i.e. I will need to

1. stop all services
  2. upgrade CB to 5.0
  3. update the authentication in application
  4. start service

Please correct me if I’m wrong. Thanks a lot!

Create user in Security and use that.

I believe you can still use an online upgrade. Pre 5.x buckets are upgraded in to the RBAC system, meaning that a legacy bucket username is created on upgrade. Your application should continue to authenticate to the old bucket using just the bucket name and password.

Any new buckets created after the 5.0 upgrade will need explicit usernames creating (which can match the bucket name if you wish) via the Security tab.

1 Like

Understood, thanks a lot for the information!

Hi,

I’m new to couchbase Server, As I created a new bucket on couchbase server named demo_bucket and trying to connect to this bucket using java code.

Cluster cluster = CouchbaseCluster.create(“localhost”);
Bucket bucket = cluster.openBucket(“demo_bucket”,"");
getting below exception.
com.couchbase.client.java.error.InvalidPasswordException: Passwords for bucket “demo_bucket” do not match.

I don’t know what bucket password is as I’ve no provided any password for bucket and there is no any option to set password for bucket.

Can you please help me?

Hi pankaj,

I’m new to couchbase Server, As I created a new bucket on couchbase server named demo_bucket and trying to connect to this bucket using java code.

Cluster cluster = CouchbaseCluster.create(“localhost”);
Bucket bucket = cluster.openBucket(“demo_bucket”,"");
getting below exception.
com.couchbase.client.java.error.InvalidPasswordException: Passwords for bucket “demo_bucket” do not match.

I don’t know what bucket password is as I’ve no provided any password for bucket and there is no any option to set password for bucket.