CBLManager with dispatchQueue

Hi,

I’m relatively new to couch base mobile and integrating it with my application (I’m using Swift for development). I have read about the concurrency support and lot of other related documentations but still couldn’t wrap my mind around what objects should be instantiated in the serial queue. Answers to the questions might be obvious but I couldn’t find any article which provides insight into these.

1. Should CBLManager.sharedInstance().copy() be also be done within the serial queue which would be set as its dispatchQueue?
  2. Once a manager is initialized, should the database creation be done by dispatch_sync(serial_queue) { //create db }?
  3. I have my database object as public and other threads can use that object. Will other threads using it to create/manipulate documents result in crash? or Should I always send a block to doAsync()?
  4. Should I create my CBLReplication objects as well using dispatch_sync(serial_queue) { //createPullReplication }?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

1. copy is a call to the original CBLManager, so it should be made on the original thread/queue. After you create the copy, pass it to your serial queue and use it there. Don’t forget to set its dispatchQueue property.
  2. I’m not sure from your example. If that manager is created to be used on that queue, you should only call it on that queue.
  3. Yes.
  4. Same answer as #2.

@jens - Thanks a lot for your quick response.

Further on point #2 - Here is the example of how I have done it. Based on your explanation, my understanding is the below code should create/open the database in the specified queue and should never result in failure/crash.

let serialQ: dispatch_queue_t = dispatch_queue_create(Constants.Identifiers.CBSerialQueue, DISPATCH_QUEUE_SERIAL)

self.manager = CBLManager.sharedInstance().copy()
self.manager.dispatchQueue = serialQ
self.manager.storageType = kCBLForestDBStorage

dispatch_sync(serialQ) {