Constant CPU usage when idle 'erl.exe'

Hello,

Erlang is used internally to manage and monitor all the persistence. So Couchbase Server is monitoring data files in order to see whether data fles are compacted and compact files when necessary; same with the view/indexes.

So this explains some CPU cycles of the erlang engine.

Remember that if you have installed the samples buckets (beer-sample, game-sample) contain some views.

Regards

Thanks for the reply.

My laptop is a retina macbook with an ivy bridge quad core in it. There is only 1 data bucket, with no documents in it and no indexes and views. I disabled everything that does anything with couchbase.
Still erl.exe takes up 5 - 10% of the CPU (after a fresh reboot of my laptop) and takes a whopping 334 MB for what? Also memcached.exe takes up 162 mb. That is around 500MB without any documents.

I’m sorry, I have no experience with couchbase but I can’t believe this is normal?

Hi,

Couchbase is a great product, got it up and running and working nicely. I also tried out the balancing/replication thing and this works like a charm.

The only thing that sets me back is the idle cpu usage. Even when I restart my laptop (on which I got it running), as soon as the couchbase service starts running I can see erl.exe taking up 10% - 30% of my cpu with intervals (some seconds 0% some seconds between 15 and 30%)

I have no buckets but the default installed, no indexes/views, just a clean install.

What is couchbase doing?

Alright, I deleted the bucket and created a memcached one. Now the memory and cpu of erl.exe and memcached.exe are more of what i’d expect (low).

Still would like to know how a few couchbase buckets will be doing on an production environment.

Like I said, I’m new to couchbase so most likely I’m wrong but if 3 of my servers (which aren’t that new) are busy compacting all the time this would be a huge hit on my server resources.