Couchbase AMI on Amazon Web Services. Crashing

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Couchbase, I’ve installed a demo server on my MBP and I’m interacting with that, both through the web interface and via the java sdk without any issues.

I’ve now created an instance of Couchbase server on Amazon EC2 using the Couchbase AMI detailed here:

https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B0085EC3N0/ref=srh_res_product_title?ie=UTF8&sr=0-4&qid=1375454821048

Note, I’m only using a t1.micro at this stage to take advantage of the free tier.

The instance starts up and appears to run absolutely fine. I then assigned an elastic IP to the instance and continued to interact through the web interface without any issues.

I installed the beer-sample bucket and can view documents ok. I added another bucket which worked ok but my problems started when I tried to add a document to the new bucket. First of all it takes quite a while to add the document and then when it finally does add the doc, the server crashes when I try to view it.

Once I restart the server via “sudo /etc/init.d/couchbase-server start” and attempt to interact with the beer-sample bucket, it becomes intermittent. Sometimes works, other times it just crashes the server again. This behaviour continues until I reboot the entire EC2 instance. Once rebooted, I can appear to interact with beer-sample but accessing the documents in my new bucket causes a crash.

Any ideas what could be causing this?

Is it just a resource issue i.e. the t1.micro server just doesn’t have the resources to cope?

Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Lee

Hello,

The t1.micro is most of the time too small to really work properly with Couchbase, it is probably better to start with m1.large.

However, do you have any information in the log that could explain the crash?
See http://www.couchbase.com/docs/couchbase-manual-2.1.0/couchbase-troubleshooting-logs.html

Regards
Tug
@tgrall

Hi Tug,

Thanks for coming back to me.