CouchBase lite and php

Hello all,

I am new to couchbase, but I have successfully created my first app using couchbase lite. Unfortunately, for a couple reasons sync gateway is not the solution I need to get my app synced with a server. The main reason is I must upload all data through php. Another is that the nature of my app requires me to mainly push data up to the server and then delete uploaded data from device storage. This app is logging large amounts of data and it is inappropriate to keep the data stored on the device. I am instead trying to insert the data into the database through php and then once the data is confirmed to be uploaded, the device safely deletes the data.

Has anyone created something like this or know of an example? I am a little lost on the implementation. Specifically I am unsure if I should just upload the document to php as a file, then use the php-couchbase-sdk to upload it to the server. Or if there is a way I can upload the document and have it inserted directly into the database though php.

Any feedback and thoughts are appreciated.

You can do this, but you’d be using Couchbase Lite just as a database, not for its sync capabilities. Or rather, you’d be implementing your own push replicator instead of using ours.

The basic approach is:

1. Keep track (per-database) of the latest sequence number you’ve pushed. Initially this is 0.
  2. Run a query for the IDs of docs with sequences greater than the last-sequence-number-pushed.
  3. Iterate over those docs, in order by sequence, reading each from the database and uploading it to your PHP script.
  4. When a doc is successfully uploaded, update your last-sequence-pushed to its sequence number, and purge (not delete!) the document.
1 Like

Hi @mickcoyne1999,

This is related to this Stack Overflow question?