Couchbase memcached

Hi all,

I am totally new to Couchbase and memcached, yet I have a project need using Couchbase and memcached, written in ROR.

I have tried my best to read through the codes, the tutorial and completed the article tutorial project as well. However, I still have a few questions seeking help and direction…

1. When creating a new data bucket, there is an option to choose whether as Couchbase or Memcached. I have tried Couchbase and with help from some previous sample project, I can view and see my updates in the Views and Document. But when I tried to play with Memcache, at the web console, there seems nothing I can view and see.

2. Says if I have Memcache bucket and Couchbase bucket both ready, how can I tell which bucket my ROR is writing to?

3. How can I view any data I written to Memcache bucket? Unlike Couchbase, there is no Document or View button on the web console where i can filter and list my result.

Sorry for being a noob, I do appreciate if anyone could help me and give me direction to look into.
Thanks in advance!

No problem always happy to answer questions so here we go:

1. The big difference between the couchbase and a memcache bucket is that the couchbase bucket gives you all the power couchbase has, which the memcache bucket exposes a straight memcache compatible instance. This means that for the webinterface there is really no good way to show you what is available, you can however just use any memcache client from ruby and connect to it and use it exactly like you would use memcache. So you could for example use dalli and it will just work, try the examples.

The big thing is that you won’t have the power of views, and your data will not be persisted to disk. It is “just memcache”