Couchbase - Using buckets and channels

An absolute newbie to Couchbase and NoSQL, can I ask a quick question?

Considering a scenario where an application is designed to do the 2 things shown below.

1. Vehicle Tracking
   - Dedicated Tracking Devices (There will be multiple devices used by same companies / customer)
2. Worker Tracking
   - Individual Smartphone applications, for attendance logging (There will be multiple devices used by same companies / customer)

Now there are many companies subscribing for one of these services, and some subscribe to both. And then Couchbase has databases, buckets, channels, documents etc. So what would be an optimal way to store the data related to different companies and different applications (Vehicle Tracking, Worker Tracking etc). Separate buckets, channels? If yes then can I have some simple pointers on what would go where? Create application wise buckets? And then what about Customers? Would that be under different channels?

Thanks a ton. I am a SQL guy but suddenly had to come up with a DB design as our NoSQL guy quit abruptly because of some personal reasons. As I am writing this I am doing my reading but too much to assimilate in a short little time. So I thought I could ask for some advice. Thanks once again

For organizational purposes, buckets are more like databases in other systems. Usually you don’t expect to have a large number of these.

Channels are very powerful for separating out access like this. It would be easy to create all channels as something like unique_customer_id+vehicle_id or something like that, as an example. You can see a moderately complex example of channel use in the training app: https://github.com/couchbaselabs/mobile-training-todo/blob/master/sync-gateway-config.json

Hope that helps get you going. If you can post more about estimated numbers that might help.

1 Like

hi,