Design question

Good morning. Having spent 25 years with SQL databases I am new to NoSQL. This question is not directly related to Couchbase but it would be great to receive some advice. The answer to this question will answer a ton of other questions for document design.

Question: If I have a document and I want to “attach” multiple images/files to that document should there be an array of files inside the document OR have another document with the images and a pointer to the original document OR have multiple documents that contain the files with them all pointing to the original document?

Thank you very much.

Brian

Hi @brianjolive,

I will try to answer your question, but it’s really an “it depends” type of situation :slight_smile:
I’m also going to assume you’re asking about Couchbase Server and not Couchbase Mobile.

1. Do you mean to store the actual binaries within the documents, or just metadata about them (e.g. file system location, file size, date, etc). If you mean to store binaries, Couchbase Server may not be the best choice for that.
  2. As you stated, you can model it both ways in JSON. So how you decide to depends on a few factors: is this list going to be relatively unbounded in size? Do you plan to read/write the whole document most of the time, or do you plan to access the individual images? Are you going to use key-based access, N1QL (SQL) queries, full-text search, or some/all of the above to retrieve data?

Thank you for responding. First question is why would Couchbase not be a good choice to store the file? I was thinking of using some of the .NET methods for converting to byte array or similar type to store as a string.

I would plan on having like a description for each file and then retrieving all of the documents that have a certain criteria and displaying just the description and then when clicking on an item it would display the image/file.