How to disable auto updating Production Design Documents when MapReduce code changed from Ruby SDK client


#1

Hi, Couchbase users.

I have a rails application that uses Couchbase Ruby SDK.
After I change the MapReduce code from my IDE and release the new version of the website, the production views get automatically updated and as a result they, get re-indexing.
And this automatic re-indexing often gives me a problem operating my website.
Therefore, I would like to disable this auto-updating production views and auto-re-indexing.
It’s okay to auto-update the development views but the production.
Is there any way to disable or change the option?

FYI, I am using the following versions.
Couchbase Server 3.0.1 CE
gem ‘couchbase’, ‘~> 1.3.11’

Best,
Jake


#2

It looks like there is an option for this issue.

0.2.0 / 2012-09-18

  • Add Rails 3 configuration possibilities, allow configuring
    ensure_design_documents to disable/enable the auto view upgrade
    (thanks to David Rice)

Does anyone know how to use this option?
Thanks.


#3

Eureka!

Just add the following option to application.rb (or any environment-specific file like development.rb/test.rb/production.rb)

config.couchbase.ensure_design_documents = false

Then your design document won’t get automatically updated when the rails application runs.