Java-Client: Report on Gerrit code review

Dear Java-client developers,

I am Enrico, a researcher at the University of Zurich and I am studying how to evaluate the code review process to understand how it could be improved.

I created a tool that analyzes the changes that happen during a review on Gerrit, to measure the effects of code review on code and understand which kinds changes reviewers pay attention to.

For example, are you aware that the majority of the changes happened during a code review in the last year in your project involve documentation issues?

The link contains the report and some questions we would like to ask you about it. The report is designed in a way that you don’t have to answer the questions (if you just want to look at the report), but it would be great if we could know what you think about our tool/report. Answering will take you no more than 5 minutes.

If you have any question about the report or our research, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

Thank you very much for your time.

Cheers

@EFregnan thanks for taking the time to analyze some of our repositories!

I’ve been looking through the report, and while it splits up the activity one thing I’m curious: using this data, what would you expect people to take away from this? Did you find anything as part of your research which can be translated to increased or decreased code quality over time? How does this compare to established tools on the market?

I’ll fill out the survey soon so you get some data for your research, but I’d be interested in some of the greater details.

2 Likes

@daschl thank you for your reply and for taking the time to answer our survey.

The idea of our tool is to give a deeper insights on what really happens during the code review process of a project.