Joins and chaining Joins takes a long time to execute [Couchbase Lite 2.0.2]

Hi there,

I have a mobile app that has continuous two-way replication enabled and all the data is being synced across to my Android devices. However, i am finding that any time that i do any sort of JOIN in Query interface it takes 10 or more seconds to fetch the data from the local database and we are talking about a recordset of about 20 items.

To give you some context - the Observation document has three UUIDs for which i am trying to join and load corresponding entities.

I am new to Query interface and here is the query i am trying to execute in Kotlin:

private val OBSERVATION_DOCUMENT_TYPE:String = "Observation"
private val METHOD_DOCUMENT_TYPE:String = "Method"
private val SCALE_DOCUMENT_TYPE:String = "Scale"
private val TRAIT_DOCUMENT_TYPE:String = "Trait"

db?.createIndex("type", IndexBuilder.valueIndex(ValueIndexItem.property("type")))

val observationsDS = DataSource.database(db).`as`("observations")
        val traitDS = DataSource.database(db).`as`("traits")
        val methodDS = DataSource.database(db).`as`("methods")
        val scaleDS = DataSource.database(db).`as`("scales")

val observationsTraitExpr = Expression.property("trait_UUID").from("observations")
        val traitIdExpr = Meta.id.from("traits");

val observationsMethodExpr = Expression.property("method_UUID").from("observations")
        val methodIdExpr = Meta.id.from("methods");

val observationsScaleExpr = Expression.property("scale_UUID").from("observations")
        val scaleIdExpr = Meta.id.from("scales");

val traitJoinExpr = observationsTraitExpr.equalTo(traitIdExpr)
                .and(Expression.property("type").from("observations").equalTo(Expression.string(OBSERVATION_DOCUMENT_TYPE)))
                .and(Expression.property("type").from("traits").equalTo(Expression.string(TRAIT_DOCUMENT_TYPE)))

val methodJoinExpr = observationsMethodExpr.equalTo(methodIdExpr)