Maintain order in array append

Hi, I am new to couchbase. I am appending an element to an array inside a json document. What I notice is that the order in which the appends are issued is not the order in which the elements occur in the array. For example, if the json document is {x:1, arrayx: [a, b, c]}, the append for c may have occurred before the append for b, but c occurs after b in the array. How can I ensure that the elements are ordered in the sequence that the appends were issued? I am using the following to append (in java): bucket.mutateIn(id).arrayAppend(“arrayx”, data).execute();

N1QL ARRAY_APPEND() function appends at the end of existing array. One in java might be using different approach directly with KV. You can try N1QL query

UPDATE  bucket  AS b USE KEYS "docid"
SET b.arrayx = ARRAY_APEND(b.arrayx, "new element")

mutateIn() uses the KV subdoc API.

@sparky1, from your code sample, I can’t quite tell what data is. Are you issuing multiple mutateIn().arrayAppend() statements and that’s when you see differing order, or is it a single statement? If you don’t mind, could you post a small code snippet that demonstrates the issue?

Note that the N1QL ARRAY_APPEND() retrieves the full document, modifies it at the query server, then does a CAS set/upsert of the entire document.

data is another element in the array and is actually a JsonObject (not a simple element like a,b, c as in my example). I do something like the following :

public void insertData(MData mData) {
Bucket bucket = CouchDBConnectionFactory.CONNECTION.bucket(“XX”);
String id = mData.getId();
JsonObject data = JsonObject.fromJson(mData.toJson());

if (!bucket.exists(id)) {
		JsonObject o = JsonObject.create()
				.put(“cId", mesgData.getcId())
				.put("_type", “YY”);
		JsonDocument doc = JsonDocument.create(id, o);
		bucket.insert(doc);
	}
          bucket.mutateIn(id).arrayAppend(“arrayx”, data).execute();

}