N1ql query views

Hi,

I’m just getting started with Couchbase and I discovered N1QL which makes things easy …

Is it possible to query “views” using N1QL ?

Thanks,

Hello,

The answer is yes.

CREATE INDEX index-name ON bucket-name(field-name)

will create a view in the background.

EXPLAIN SELECT … WHERE field-name …

will show the query plan, which will indicate if your SELECT statement would use the view.

Can u please provide an example of it. Especially in ’ WHERE field-name ’ it’s not clear

CREATE INDEX idx_abv ON beer-sample(abv);

EXPLAIN SELECT COUNT(*) FROM beer-sample WHERE abv > 20;

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM beer-sample WHERE abv > 20;

Ok, I’m understood idea. So what i want to do:

• i have a list of tags in a document,
  • there are few use-cases based on these tags

What i did,
First, create index actions_idx on default (actions). ‘actions’ a dynamic field.
Second, I fount this index(actions_idx) in interface and placed these lines in it

*** var actions = [];

for(var i in doc.tags){
var t = doc.tags;
if(t.member.action1)
actions.push(“Action1”);
if(t.member.action2)
actions.push(“Action2”);
}
doc.actions = actions;***

for field actions ( ex, [“Action1”, “Action2” …]).
Third, now when i’m testing
explain select count() from default where any act=‘Action1’ OVER actions AS act*.
I got an error Syntax error…
It’s seems like usage of OVER clause is not right…

Fourth, So i simplified view, so actions field contain just one value.
Quering: explain select * from default where action='Action1’ - showed me that it is using my view.
But without explain it returns nothing.

If you understand anything from what i wrote. Please, Help =)

What is the output of:

select * from default where action=‘Action1’ limit 1;

Please post the result here.

Also, are you using the N1QL documentation? Here it is: http://docs.couchbase.com/prebuilt/n1ql/n1ql-dp3/

Hey Gerald,

I’m trying to follow along with the original question and I’m not sure if I’m getting it properly.