Open files/sockets

i’m quite new in node js/couchbase.
in my project i try to make a small web app to query data from a couchbase cluster. after some test i’ve realised (because of some mysterious errors) the app keeps open connections (files and or sockets) and the os limit (linux - 1024) is reached quite soon.
(i could higher the limit, but it seems it will increase all the time!)

i tried to debug but no success. i tried to close the couchbase connection but it was even worst.

here is my (test) code:

var http = require(‘http’);
var couchbase = require(‘couchbase’);
var config = {
“host” : “10.21.11.45:9999”,
“bucket” : “tBucket”,
“password” : “xxx”,
“operationTimeout” : 20000,
“connectionTimeout” : 20000
};

var view = function(docname, viewname, viewopt, callback){
var o = this;
var cl = new couchbase.Connection(config, function(err) {
if (err){
if (cl)
//cl.shutdown();
callback (result);
} else {
var q = cl.view(docname, viewname, viewopt);
q.query(function(err,result) {
//cl.shutdown();
callback(result);
});
}
return;
});
}

http.createServer(function (req, response) {

var docname = ‘spamdoc’;
var viewname = ‘targets’;
var viewopt = {};

view(docname, viewname, viewopt, function(res){
if(res.err) {
response.writeHead(200, {‘Content-Type’: ‘text/plain’});
response.end(‘ERROR\n’);
} else {
try {
console.log(‘couchbase view ok’);
response.end(‘View:\n’+res);
} catch (e) {
response.end(‘ERROR\n’);
}
}
});
}).listen(1337);
console.log(‘Server running at http://127.0.0.1:1337/’);

the console output:

>>node t.js &
Server running at http://127.0.0.1:1337/
>>lsof | grep -w node |wc -l
>> couchbase view ok
>> couchbase view ok

Hello,

Couchbase clients (so Node.js/libcouchbase) open sockets between your application and all the nodes of your cluster.

Can you give us more information about:

• your cluster
  • code of your application
  • type of request…

I am surprised when you say that the number of sockets is growing all the time…