Populate iOS picker view (Swift 3) from Couchbase server

Hi all,

I’m looking to populate a picker view in Swift 3 with document data stored on a Couchbase server and trying to see if anyone has done that and perhaps have sample code in Github or something that can be shared here.

I am relatively new to both Couchbase and Swift and am trying to learn both but struggling a little bit and I think an example would really help, just like how the to-do lite project taught me some sync basics.

Appreciate any time in advance,
David

Hi David,
You will have to first fetch/pull data from the Couchbase Server . Once you have the data local in your app, you can implement the UIPickerViewDelegate and UIPickerViewDataSource protocols as you would normally do in order to populate the picker view.

-Priya

Hi Priya, thanks for the response. I’ve gone through a number of tutorials and all I see out there is the pickerview being populated by an array. Do I have to populate an array from fetched data in the Couchbase Lite db instance and then link that array to the pickerdatasource?

Thanks,
David

Hi David
You don’t have to copy it over to a separate Array if you don’t want to. You can return the CBLQueryEnumerator’s count in the UIPickerViewDelegate’s numberOfRowsInComponent function and CBLQueryEnumerator’s rowAtIndex function to get the details of a row which you can then query to return in titleForRow delegate function

Roughly …

func numberOfComponents(in pickerView: UIPickerView) -> Int {
        return Int(self.docsEnumerator?.count ?? 0)

}

func pickerView(_ pickerView: UIPickerView, titleForRow row: Int, forComponent component: Int) -> String? {

let queryRow = self.docsEnumerator?.row(at: UInt(row))
        let userProps = queryRow?.document?.userProperties 
        let title = userProps?["name"] as? String // Depends on your document structure
        return title

}

regards
-Priya