Remove channels from a document

I’m new to the couchbase. I want to remove channels for some of the documents through sync functions. But right now, it is not updating but adding an extra channel to the document’s meta but not removing the existing channel. Can anyone suggest how I can remove the existing channel in the document?

Sync Function:

function(doc, oldDoc) {
  //....
  if (doc.docType === "differentType") {
    channel("differentChannel");
    expiry(2332800);
    return;
  }
  //.......
}

Document:

{
  "channels": [
    "abcd"
  ],
  "docType": "differentType",
  "_id" : "asjnc"
}

Metadata:

{
  "meta": {
    "id": "asjnc",
    "rev": "64-1b500000000",
    "expiration": 1650383285,
    "flags": 0,
    "type": "json"
  },
  "xattrs": {
    "_sync": {
      "rev": "1-db30e607872",
      "sequence": 777,
      "recent_sequences": [
      ],
      "history": {
        "revs": [
          "1-db30e607872"
        ],
        "parents": [
        ],
        "channels": [
          [
            "differentChannel"
          ]
        ]
      },
      "channels": {
        "differentChannel": null
      }
    }
  }
}

Expectation of the document with the same metadata:

{
  "channels": [ ], // <--- no channels
  "docType": "differentType",
  "_id" : "asjnc"
}

With this sync function, for the document of type differentType, the channel differentChannel is set in the xattrs section in the metadata. But the channel that was added earlier from the couchbaseLite is not getting removed. Can anyone help?

The "channels" property in a document is counter-intuitively not describing what channels the document is currently in - it’s just a user-definable field that happens to be the default routing for channels if you don’t specify a sync function. It’s up to the writer of the document what it should contain.