Start help with Sync Function :-)

I’m new to Couchbase (first server app migrated to this db though) and Sync Gateway (rewriting first app to use sync). Therefore, I think I need a little guidance prior to running forward with my head down :slight_smile:

So I have a few documents with these characteristics:

• All docs have a type property
  • Some docs are ‘Public’ (with a doc.ispublic boolean property) - these can ONLY be read
  • Docs with type=“User” have a key property with the user key
  • Other docs have a userkey property with the user key
  • Some of a user’s docs can also be ‘Public’ - the user can change these

I have started “playing” with a Sync Function:

function (doc, oldDoc) {
	//	Document type is mandatory
	if (!doc.type){
		throw({forbidden: "Document type is required."});
	}
	if (doc.ispublic) {
		channel('public');
        return;
	}
	var key = doc.type == 'User' ? doc.key : doc.userkey;
	requireUser(key);
}

I have enabled the GUEST account and want it to be able to sync all public documents so app can sync prior to the user logging in (or being registered). Setting the admin_channels to ‘public’ seems to do that trick:

"users": { "GUEST": { "disabled": false, "admin_channels": ["public"] } },

So now to some questions:

1. How can I make the ‘public’ channel a “pull only” ?
  2. Should I use two replicators in my app? - one for public and one for user docs? As I understand it I should start the replicator when starting the app - and only restart it in the event of the server having been offline (or app has been in the background) - and I guess that points in the direction of one replicator (due to resources).
  3. What is the best way to handle the user docs - do I need to use a channel (e.g. defined in the sync function)? - or will what I have above work Ok?
  4. How can I make sure that the user can update his/hers documents that are public?