Syncing multiple channels dynamically

For our accounts we have parent/child relationships (as well as “shared” data). We would like to have the server to sync the child’s data along with its parent’s data. How would we set this up so the appropriate data would be on the mobile device?

The account relation information is in a relational database, fwiw. Just didn’t know what mechanism to employ.

(Complete newb to Couchbase, just looking to prototype, any pointers appreciated)

There’s nothing in our design that explicitly manages relationships between documents. Generally you create a relationship by adding a JSON property whose value is a string with the other document’s ID, but that’s an informal convention, and there are other ways to do it (like encoding the hierarchy into the docIDs, e.g. via a path naming convention.) It’s up to you.

You’d just need to make sure either that the parent and child documents were assigned to the same channels, or that any user that has access to the channel for a child doc also has access to the channel(s) for its parent(s).

What mechanism do you use to denote that the child account gets it’s channel, along with its parent channel documents?

You have complete control of this using the Sync Gateway sync function. You can probably structure your data the way it’s easiest for you to consume and then derive the channels in the sync function.

For example, you might have a child have a parent id property, at which point you could just check in the sync function for the parent property and assign a channels accordingly. Or maybe you have the child/parent relationship encoded in some way. Maybe your document id encodes the relationship (so you have a property like id = parent.child.uniquevalue). Just split it apart and assign the channels as you like.

In the end you would have two ‘channel(string)’ calls in the sync function, one for the parent channel and one for the child channel.

I appreciate the advice so far.